Monday, March 18, 2013

Ottawa County Courthouse

The Ottawa County Courthouse is a picturesque building. I have answered many questions regarding the style, cost, etc. Here is a concise description of what I have discovered. The source of the following information is primarily newspaper articles.

            The structure is in the Richardson Romanesque style, constructed of North Amherst, Ohio sandstone and Pink Tennessee marble. Construction started in 1898 and was completed in 1901. The contract price for the Courthouse was $47,500; additions and changes brought the price to $60,000. This did not include the steam heat, furniture and other fittings. The total cost was $65,500. The cost of decorating the 3rd floor Common Pleas courtroom exceeded $1,000.
            The tablet that records the name, company and regiment of every soldier and sailor from Ottawa County who served in the Civil War was paid for by the funds generated from a ¼ mill property tax levy which was approved by the voters.
            During construction a five ton stone was to be transferred from the south face to the north face. While the stone was being moved, a cable on the derrick parted and the stone & derrick fell. It fell on Conrad Balduf knocking him to the ground. Miraculously, Balduf was not seriously injured. The construction firm presented him with jersey cow. “Coonie” had just lost a milk cow shortly before the incident.
            In 1974, the Ottawa County Courthouse was added to the national Register of Historical Places.

Friday, January 25, 2013


          Etienne Brule was often treated as though he were a mythical character. The facts are these: there were no letters or diaries left behind by Brule to give us his account of life as one who literally became a native with the Hurons.

 

          Brule fully integrated himself, learning the language and the customs. It was in 1610 that Samuel de Champlain the exchange with the natives. Young Brule was 16 years old and he was one of eight who managed to survive the winter of 1608 and 1609 with Champlain in Quebec.

 

          Brule was aid to be strong and adventurous; often called “first runner of the woods.” When he did return to Quebec, he was said to be unrecognizable. The Frenchman was accepted as a native of the Metis Nation. He had an impact on Canadian history. It is accepted as local history that Etienne and his fellow travelers landed at the Toussaint Creek of the Portage River on November 1, 1615, All Saints Day. This tributary of the Portage River was named for the date of his discovery. Toussaint means All Saints.

 

          Here he trapped muskrat and beaver for the fur trade with the natives. In 1629, Brule was killed by the Hurons for a betrayal that he committed. He was stabbed, dismembered and his remains were consumed by the villagers, as was their custom.

 

          Brule was born in 1592 in Champigny-sur-Marne, France. He died a Toanche, on the Pentanguishene Peninsula, Ontario, Canada.

Monday, December 3, 2012


 
 

Port Clinton Millstones

 

 

          There are two huge millstones located in the Adams Street Boulevard that have a local significance. The first stone is located across from St. John’s Lutheran Church, just south of Second Street.

 

          The stone was forced ashore at the South end of Fulton Street from Sandusky Bay. The stone, measuring 2’ x 3’ and weighing approximately 3800 lbs, was forced ashore about 1920 during a winter ice storm. Ice formed in the Bay and the stone was forced ashore by the current of the Bay. It came ashore on the farm of Henry Rohde and had been turned upside down. The stone has three bowl shaped indentations; one measuring about nine inches in diameter and the other two slightly smaller.

 

          The existence of this stone was first brought to the attention of Port Clinton by Emil Heiser. Mr. Heiser had been a resident of the Bay area for many years and thought that the stone was significant. The City of Port Clinton decided to move the stone to the Adams Street Boulevard (1,000 feet south of the Harrison Trail) near St. John’s Church. Washington’s Birthday 1933 was chosen as the date for the move.

 

          The second stone was moved to its location just south of Perry Street across from the former Garden at the Lighthouse. The stone was moved to this location from the property of Col. S. M. Lockwood.  Lockwood was instrumental in developing the gypsum industry in this area. The stone, appears to be of similar size to the Indian Millstone, was used in the milling operations by the gypsum industry; milling stone into plaster for use in drywall.

 

 

Sources:

 

          Millstone is placed in park on Washington’s Birthday. ---------, Port Clinton, Ohio, February 24, 1933.

 

          Gordon, William & Mary. A Historical Walking Tour of Downtown Port Clinton. 2004

 

Monday, October 22, 2012

Nabagon


            Legends and lore are a very significant part of any culture, especially those cultures with a history involving Native Americans. The legend of the Nabagon is one of those poignant stories worth telling.

            Legend tells us that Nabagon was a brave, young Ottawa Indian warrior who prized courage and valor; and was loved and respected by his tribe. Nabagon’s adventures were known by all those who knew him and his prowess was never in doubt.

            The young brave had an encounter with a panther that proved to be his demise. Nabagon saved a youngster from an attack by the panther. Nabagon was grievously wounded with deep cuts across his chest and back from the panther’s claws. Nabagon became feverish from the infection in his wounds. Nabagon died a few days after the attack from the infections.

            After the attack, the tribal chief asked the tribe prophet to pray to the Great Spirit to save Nabagon’s life. The following is the final part of the Nabagon legend: after the panther attack, the young brave helped Nabagon to his feet. Nabagon went to remove his tomahawk from the panther and it took all of his strength to remove the tomahawk. The legend states that it was the Great Spirit in the form of the panther trying to call Nabagon to the Great Spirit. For it is also stated that the body of the panther was never found and thus it was never killed.

            Days after the death of Nabagon a cliff (outcropping) of limestone took on the appearance of Nabagon; just as though he had posed for the carving. The tribe looked on his visage and knew that forever more he would stand as The Watcher to keep his tribe safe and those who would come after him.



Sources:

Holt, Pamela. The Legend of the Indian Head. Catawba Island Magazine, October 6, 2009.

Heinsen, Victoria King. Ghosts and Legends of Lake Erie's North Coast (OH) (Haunted America). August 2010.

Friday, September 21, 2012

Did you know? John Brown, Jr.; Put-In-Bay resident

John Brown, Jr. was the oldest child of the abolitionist John Brown and his first wife Diantha Lusk.

Mr. Brown served with the Kansas 7th Cavalry as a Captain of Company K. In 1862 John Brown, Jr. moved to Put-in-Bay where he lived the remainder of his life. Mr. Brown died May 5, 1895 and he was buried on the Island with the full rites and ritual of the Science Lodge F & AM.  The 1880 census lists Brown as grape grower and lived with his wife, Wealthy, and children John and Edith. Edith later married Thomas Alexander, an actor and mayor of Put-in-Bay for many years.

At Brown’s funeral services many individuals offered glowing eulogies for Mr. Brown. Judge E. M. Colver gave the eulogy. Judge Colver paid a glowing tribute to Mr. Brown, stating “his name was connected with the greatest pages of America’s history.” The judge continued, “He was a disciple of truth and his life exemplified that great truism, ‘an honest man is the noblest work of God’ ”

Sanduskian James M. French paid tribute to John Brown, Jr. on behalf of the people of color of Ohio. He spoke of the sacrificial spirit of the Brown family. “The lesson to be carried away is that we should have a renewed inspiration for progress and advancement in our civil and educational lives, to show our appreciation for what was done in our behalf.”

During the Civil War, Brown warned the Union troops on Johnson’s Island of the impending raid to free Confederate officers imprisoned there. Later, he organized a militia company to assist in the defense of the island. He filled his home with memorabilia of Kansas and his father and defended John, Sr.’s, character against all public criticism. It has been written that Brown, Jr. was aware of his father’s plan to conduct the raid at Harper’s Ferry. Brown, Jr. was instructed by his father to move “tools” for the raid to a secret location. In 1858, the “tools” were to Conneaut, Ohio and from there to Cherry Valle Village. The Senior Brown also instructed Brown, Jr. to recruit “likeminded” individuals from Pennsylvania in the areas of Gettysburg, Bedford, Chambersburg and Uniontown.

Brown also had a brother, Owen, who also participated in the assault on Harper’s Ferry. Owen escaped to Put-in-Bay where he remained for twenty years. Owen lived in a small cabin on his brother’s land; he spent the winter months on nearby Gibraltar Island serving as the caretaker of Jay Cooke’s summer home.

According to Roger Long, late of Port Clinton and a noted Civil War historian, the people of Put-in-Bay often noticed Owen carrying a basket with a checkered napkin as a cover. Most thought Owen was carrying his lunch while working for Jay Cooke. In reality, Owen was carrying a firearm to protect himself, if necessary.

The papers of John Brown, Jr., including many letters, are found at the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center. The Genealogical Project of the Lake Erie Islands Historical Society features a page on its website dedicated to the Brown Family.

Sources:


Sketches and Stories of the Lake Erie Islands. Ryall, Lydia J., The American Publishers Co., 1913.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

How was Catawba Island named??

               Catawba Island …Everyone comes in to the Ida Rupp Public Library with the same information …Catawba Island was named for the Catawba Indian tribe. 
               Catawba Island was actually named after the Catawba grape.   Yes, a grape, a red grape with a crisp flesh, very sweet and juicy, that produces a pinkish wine.  This particular variety dates back to the early 1800’s when they were found growing along the Catawba River in North Carolina.  It was this river that was named for the Native American tribe that settled along its banks.  They were known as Kawahcatawbas, people of the river, I think this is where the tradition begins about our local island. Nicholas Longworth, of Cincinnati, introduced the first Catawba vines here from North Carolina.  Mr. Longworth had tried this grape growing venture in Cincinnati.  Catawba Island has a wonderful agricultural history with grapes and peaches in abundance.  The limestone bedrock and underground caves and caverns provide the area with a wonderful natural drainage system and the surrounding lake shore gives a natural temperate climate.  Lake Erie being so shallow keeps wide spread frost from being an issue or major concern for present day growers
               Early in its history, Catawba had three commercial wineries.  In 1863, Benedict Furrer emigrated from Switzerland and planted a vineyard near Catawba Point and built his home on the southeast corner of Porter Road and Northwest Catawba Road; his winery lasted until 1905.  Gidion Owen came from New York State in 1865; his vineyard was also near Catawba Point.  He later converted his winery into a successful peach brandy distillery.  The third winery was located on Wine Cellar Road.  The Catawba Island Wine Co. was truly a cooperative effort between Catawba and Danbury grape growers but they were out of business by the 1870’s.  The Mon Ami Winery was built in 1871, and has had many owners.
               By 1871 there were 345 acres of vineyards on Catawba Island and by 1874 six of those acres were producing Catawba grapes. The Catawba grape has been used by many different wineries in Ottawa & Erie Counties and by other vintners in other locales. Some of the local wineries are Mon Ami, Lonz, and Heineman. The Heineman Winery is located on Put-in-Bay and was founded in 1888. Except for the duration of Prohibition, Heineman has been producing wines from locally grown grapes. The Mon Ami winery was originally founded as the Catawba Island Wine company and was changed to Mon Ami in 1872. It is the largest winery on the Catawba Island Peninsula with an annual capacity of 130,000 gallons.
Sources:
Lake Erie Islands, Grapes Have Long Been Associated. Port Clinton News Herald, 9/17/1970.
Changing Times Down Island Veteran; Old Distillery at Catawba Served in Many Capacities. Toledo Blade, 9/24/1958.

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

“The Lookout”

          As the Ida Rupp Public Library prepares to host the exhibit  Lincoln: The Constitution and the Civil War, my thoughts turn to the Confederate Cemetery on Johnson’s Island. The statue designed by Sir Moses Ezekiel, “The Lookout” a bronze representation of the Confederate Soldiers who were imprisoned on the Island, guards the graves of 206 soldiers who perished there.
          The statue, which looks to the South, was dedicated in 1910. It is interesting to note that a former prisoner, General George Washington Gordon, gave the keynote address. The Daughters of the Confederacy, Cincinnati, Ohio chapter erected the statue. “The Lookout” remains a stoic reminder that 10,000 to 15,000 men were held prisoner on the Island, far from their homes.
          Moses Ezekiel, the statue’s creator died in 1917 in Italy and his body was returned to the United States in 1921. Ezekiel is buried in Arlington Cemetery at the foot of the Confederate monument that he designed. Ezekiel was a Sergeant in Company C, Battalion of Cadets from the Virginia Military Institute.
          In the short space of this blog, we cannot do adequate justice to the Johnson’s Island site; but Johnson’s Island has been written about in many books and magazine articles.

Sources  
“Rebels on Lake Erie,” by Charles Frohman
“The Civil War Reminiscences of General M. Jeff Thompson”
“Ohio’s Military Prisons in the Civil War,” by Phillip R. Shriver
The late Roger Long’s enumeration of the graves made available through the www.rbhayes.org website has been invaluable.